Get help now
  • Pages 2
  • Words 306
  • Views 229
  • Download


    Verified writer
    • rating star
    • rating star
    • rating star
    • rating star
    • rating star
    • 4.7/5
    Delivery result 4 hours
    Customers reviews 348
    Hire Writer
    +123 relevant experts are online

    The Three Sections of Jerusalem

    Academic anxiety?

    Get original paper in 3 hours and nail the task

    Get help now

    124 experts online

    Jerusalem is located in the heart of Israel and is divided into threesections: the Old City, New City (West Jerusalem), and East Jerusalem. Inthe center is the Old City which is split up into four main sections:Muslim Quarter, Jewish Quarter, Christian Quarter, and the ArmenianQuarter. Also, the Old City is the site of many religious and historicallandmarks. Within Jewish Quarters, the main attraction is the Western (Wailing)Wall Wall”). It’s dubbed the “Wailing Wall” because many Jews come to praythere, and their prayers sound like wailing.

    The Wall is the smallremaining part of King Solomon’s Temple. After the Jews were banished fromTemple Mount, the Western Wall became the most sacred place of Judaism. There are two major sects of Jews in this part of the city. There is theSephardic group, who come from Spain, Africa, and the Mediterranean, andthere is the Ashkenazic group, who come from Northern Europe.

    Another section of the Old City is the Christian Quarter. The centerof this part of the city is The Church of the Holy Sepulchre. It isbelieved that the Via Dolorosa, a street, was the site of the originalStations of the Cross. Furthermore, it is maintained that Jesus wasoriginally buried at this site. The Church was rebuilt by Crusaders in 1099CE, but it was originally built in the fourth century.

    The St. James Cathedral is the center of attention in the Armenianpart. Many families who escaped the Armenian Holocaust in 1915 settled inthe Old City. Many of the residents of this part of the Armenian Quarterpractice the Greek Orthodox religion. The last section of the city is the Muslim Section.

    Atop the TempleMount are the gold-domed Dome of the Rock (661 BCE) and the silver-domedal-Aqsa mosques. The Rock referred to in Dome of the Rock is Mt. Zion. Thisis where Abram went to sacrifice Isaac and Muhammed ascended to heaven.

    This essay was written by a fellow student. You may use it as a guide or sample for writing your own paper, but remember to cite it correctly. Don’t submit it as your own as it will be considered plagiarism.

    Need custom essay sample written special for your assignment?

    Choose skilled expert on your subject and get original paper with free plagiarism report

    Order custom paper Without paying upfront

    The Three Sections of Jerusalem. (2019, Jan 01). Retrieved from

    We use cookies to give you the best experience possible. By continuing we’ll assume you’re on board with our cookie policy

    Hi, my name is Amy 👋

    In case you can't find a relevant example, our professional writers are ready to help you write a unique paper. Just talk to our smart assistant Amy and she'll connect you with the best match.

    Get help with your paper